top of page
  • Writer's pictureBilly Beanland

A Hat In Time Mod: Week 8



Polishing Things Up


Like I talked about in last week's blog, the big thing testers wanted to see was more aesthetic feel to the level, so that's what they got. This was mainly a lot of prop placement (goat faces, plants, and statues), but one thing I started experimenting with was applying new materials to objects. For the most part, it was pretty easy with drag and drop controls, but I've been having some issues with applying new material to the goats. In the Twilight Realm, Goats are suppose to be tinted black with a white glow. I eventually found the right material, but when I dragged it onto the goats, they still retained their original color, but with the white glow. Since this isn't a huge issue for the level to be playable, I'll probably leave it for the time being (plus it's not too noticeable). Another new feature that I added this week was a few new Forest Dwellers that the player can talk to. Right now, I'm a little concerned about where I put them, but it'll probably something that I QA in the future.


Coming Soon...


Right now, I'm focusing pretty heavily on the polish, and I think that's going to carry over into this coming week. I've already started experimenting with a new kind of dialogue; this kind just requires the player to just get close to the NPC in order to trigger. I've also started to add an intro sequence to the level by setting up some cameras. I figure it can make the level feel more authentic, and give the player a better idea about what they'll encounter. With only a little over a month left on the development, I definitely think I'm ahead of schedule, so I hope this level turns out even better than expected.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page