top of page
  • Writer's pictureBilly Beanland

A Hat in Time Mod: Week 7



Back on Track


So I know that last week was a bit bare for this project, but now that Capstone is in a good place, it's time to get back in gear with the level. There were a few big things that happened this week; I finished the basic level layout and sent out a QA form. The final path that I built is one that I'm pretty proud of, and will probably wind up being the hardest one. Basically, the player has to go through multiple paths that are made up of inverted Dweller Blocks, with Negative Dwellers moving in a vertical square. Once they make it past this, they'll move on top of those paths, and head back, where the button is just above where they started.


Dweller Platforms like to hide in the editor, so this is the best picture I can show.

QA Feedback


I finally got to do some QA with my level, but not in a traditional sense. The process was mainly just asking my friends that I knew had the game to test the level in their own free time. At the same time, I decided to post a link to my level and the QA form in the Hat In Time Discord.


The big feedback that I got was that there needs to be more polish. People want to see more of the Dwellers, and the decorations that make the world feel like the Twilight Realm. There were also some comments about the Negative Dweller sections being a bit too hard, so I'll take a look at what I can do to make the sections a bit easier.


Coming Soon...


This is the first time I'm structuring my work around what I got back from QA, so it feels like this week will be a little different. I want to focus on the visual aesthetic, and add more props and decorations to the area. I'll probably add some collectibles at the same time, which could also make the level easier. As for NPCs, I'll probably wind up adding a few more to capture the feel of the Twilight Realm, and to enhance the story aspect that I'm including. Overall, this coming week feels a bit easier than the last few, but I'm hoping the results will make the level a lot more fun.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page