top of page
  • Writer's pictureBilly Beanland

A Hat in Time Mod: Week 3



An Overestimate


So last time, I said that I thought this week was going to be a bit heavier on work than the previous weeks, but I kinda got that wrong. It's not that I got lazy with the project, but some things came up that screwed with my work plan a bit. The main thing was that dialogue took a bit more time to figure out and test properly, so I didn't get as much time to work on actual level construction. On top of that, I caught a cold around the end of the week, which kept me from doing a lot in general. Even though I couldn't stick with my plan this week, It's probably not something to get too down about. In fact, this week makes me more anxious to get back into the swing of things, and keep working.


Lonely No More


Before my cold really kicked in, I did manage to get dialogue working for my level's first NPC. Basically, this is the Forest Dweller that's going to introduce the player's objective. Of course, that's not an excuse to avoid having some fun. I decided to include some branching text to give the player some choice, which ranges from being somewhat serious to trying to get some small chuckles.


I hope people think this is funny.

As for the little level construction that I did, I changed left path branching from the center of the level. Now instead of a short path with some angry crows in your way, the player has another Dweller Hat challenge, where they have to make it to the other side before the hat's power runs out. There's also a Negative Dweller moving in the area that'll prevent the player from interacting with the platforms. There's not a lot to it at the time, but I'm hoping to make it more lengthy in the coming weeks.


Now the player has to get around this.

Coming Soon...


As I'm typing this blog post, I'm still recovering from my cold, so I might be waiting just a little bit longer to get back to work. When I do eventually get back to working condition, I want to keep working on the new left path. Mainly, I just want to make it longer and have more challenges, and eventually bring back the crows for some combat. I also think I'm at a point where I want to make the center of the level bigger and more diverse. I don't think I'm gonna make any predictions about how much work this will actually be this time, but I can't wait to kick this cold and get back into the editor.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page