top of page
  • Writer's pictureBilly Beanland

Favorite Game I Played in 2023

It's that time of year again! 2023 has been a less than stellar year for me to say the least, but thankfully there were plenty of great games to help me get through the rough patches. And as usual, it doesn't have to be just games that came out this year. Any game I played for the first time can make this list. So let's take a look at my year of gaming in 2023.


Kirby's Return to Dreamland Deluxe


I can't even describe how excited I was when this game got announced. After all, Kirby's Return to Dreamland is my all-time favorite Kirby game, so the hype was beyond real. Not only did we get the original game and all its glory, but once you're done with story mode and The Arenas, there's tons of other content to explore! I spent so much time revisiting minigames of past games in Merry Magoland just to collect all the masks and complete all the quests (I got SUPER lucky when I completed the final Samurai Kirby 100 quest). I was a bit sad to no longer have Scope Shot, but I understood why it wasn't there.


And of course we have to talk about the Magolor Epilogue. Unlike the main story, we get a mode more focused maintaining combos with your attacks, and unlocking/upgrading those attacks with the magic points you earn makes the experience so much more fun and satisfying. And on top of all that, we get new boss fights that put fun spins on the bosses from the main story. Overall, Return to Dreamland Deluxe was a phenomenal remake, and I'm sure I'll be revisiting it as much as I did with the original!


The Legend of Zelda: Tears of The Kingdom


2023 was a big year for Nintendo, but Tears of The Kingdom was by far their most anticipated game. I came into this game having only played two other Zelda games; the original and Breath of The Wild, with the latter now being one of my favorite games ever. And coming into this game, I was greeted with an experience that echoed its predecessor. Even though I had already explored Hyrule in the first game, the fact that it's such a huge map still allowed it to feel fresh. On top of that you have the depths and the sky islands to explore all while you fight new enemies, discover shrines, and find all new secrets.


And then we have crafting, which I loved for how it gave items more meaning. In Breath of The Wild, I felt like I had so many monster parts and not enough uses for them. That changed quite a bit when I could add them to my weapons and make them stronger. And it doesn't stop there; you've also got all the machines and structures you can build to help you get around in new ways. On the whole, this was a really great sequel, and it will be interesting to see if the Zelda series does another open world style game for its next installation.


Super Mario Bros. Wonder


The Nintendo train continues!!! In all honesty, I actually didn't think we'd be getting another side-scrolling Mario game unless it was another Super Mario Maker. But here we are, and I gotta say that I have been loving it. The levels are so fun and exciting, plus having badges that give you special abilities really makes for a personalized experience. What's really stood out to me though is the online mode. It's a really different kind of multiplayer experience, cause for the most part, you just see them playing the level alongside you. But there are a bunch of things you can do to support each other, like putting down signs where secrets are or rescuing ghosts so that everyone can complete the level. At least for me, this is the kind of online MP with strangers I enjoy, cause everyone can kind of just do their thing, and then online interactions are almost always positive.


Hob


Hob had actually been on my radar for quite a few years, and since I made a goal for myself to go through my backlog of games, I decided it was finally time to pick it up. I really wish I had played this game sooner, cause it was wonderful. I loved exploring every part of Hob's beautiful environment, and getting to do that as a character with a robot arm and a sword was so epic! The combat and enemies were awesome, but I also have to talk about the puzzles and secrets. All of these came together for a really great game, and I'd love to see a sequel if it happens!


Little Nightmares


The most interesting thing about this is that I am very much not a fan of horror. But after getting a recommendation to try it out, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. The level of tension and stealth needed for this game made my spine tingle in all the best ways. And on top of that, I still got in so many great puzzles and compelling storytelling. There are also scenes in this game that I will never forget, and I say that in a disturbing way. One in particular involves the main character, Six, and one of those little mushroom guys you see in the above video's thumbnail. I won't say what it is though, cause I think you have to experience it for itself. In any case, I also wound up playing the sequel, and both games have me super excited for the third one to come out.


Dokapon Kingdom Connect


For years, my friend Nick has been talking about how much Dokapon Kingdom will make us and the rest of our friends want to murder each other. Well, I have since experienced that madness, and while those moments do occur, I'm still just having fun in another Mario Party style game. Dokapon Kingdom Connect is really unique in that regard though because the game can go on for months. And for the group of friends I've been playing with, we've just enjoyed all of the chaos. From the turn-based combat, to the RPG element and crazy events, it's just been a really fun time, and I can't wait to play more with everyone!


Honorable Mentions


  • Little Nightmares 2

  • Indivisible

  • Lethal Company

And there you have it; another great year of gaming. Like I said, my 2023 was pretty rough, and I'm glad I had so many awesome games to get me through it. Hopefully 2024 is a bit better, but the games remain awesome!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page