top of page
  • Writer's pictureBilly Beanland

Senior Capstone: Post-Mortem


The Final Verdict


After a lot of work and a semester that flew by like no other, Change, Please! received the green light for senior production. However, due to other circumstances, production of the game has ended, and all of us will be moving on to different teams. The deciding factor came down to my own personal reasons; there was a certain aspect of the work environment that I felt I wasn't getting, and it was taking a mental toll on me. Ultimately, I decided that it would be better if I moved on to another team, which everyone else understood and accepted. It was one of the hardest choices that I had to make; I truly loved this game, but for my own mental state, I wanted to be on a team where the social environment was a bit more relaxed.


The Big Takeaways


Working on this game, I really got to learn about the major responsibilities for a leadership role, as well as my own capabilities with in-engine work. I definitely think I worked more in-engine on this game than any other team project I've been on, and that I had to keep track of everything that was happening with the builds for QA. Going forward, I want to keep working on those skills so I can become a better game developer.


Next Semester


Heading into my final semester, I got picked up by Wrong Warp Games to work on their game, Arachnotron. Overall, I'm really excited to get to work on it; I've watched the game evolve over the semester, and I think it's really innovative and fun. I've already had my first meeting with the team, and the dynamic already seems like what I'm looking for. There'll probably be times where I look back and wonder what would've happened if Change, Please! went forward, but I think this is for the best, and I'm ready to make some great memories with Arachnotron.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page