top of page
  • Writer's pictureBilly Beanland

My Thoughts on AVA's "Rebel Girl"



So yeah, Angels & Airwaves put out a new song the other day called "Rebel Girl", and it's pretty fucking awesome!!! To say that I was waiting for this band to put out new music for a while would definitely be an understatement. I had been keeping track of what they were up to for at least over a year now, just waiting for a sign that they were gonna put out a new album. Obviously they had put out three EPs since 2014's The Dream Walker, but there was still the fact that there wasn't an album. Thankfully, I got that satisfaction when Tom DeLonge started making a bunch of posts about not only recording new music with AVA, but bringing back David Kennedy and Matt Wachter for an album that would return to the band's roots. Now yes, they didn't officially announce an album, but I think this song and their upcoming tour is a good sign that that's what's coming.


As for the song itself, people can already see that it's quite different than what The Dream Walker was. It's way more upbeat and feel-good sounding like their earlier albums, but when I hear it, I hear how they mixed their original sound with what they went for on The Dream Walker, specifically the much heavier use of synthesizers. I know that synths have always been a heavy part of AVA's sound, but the way they used them on that album was much more in your face and daring, which is something I hear a lot of in "Rebel Girl". From the moment it starts, we're greeted by a synth melody that we'll hear throughout the entire song, and is both catchy and memorable.

Along with the soothing and heavenly synths and bells in the background, it shows how the band has combined the two different styles they've used in the past to create something truly magical and uplifting.


So to summarize my own words, I like "Rebel Girl" a lot! It's a great example of why I fell in love with this band almost a decade ago, and why Tom DeLonge will always be one of my favorite musicians. Can't wait for the album to officially be announced!!!

5 views0 comments
bottom of page