top of page
  • Writer's pictureBilly Beanland

I Made 2 New Hat in Time Levels

Updated: Nov 14, 2021

So, this is a little overdue, but after I made my previous ProBuilder project, I decided I wanted to make a playable level, and it had been a while since I used the Hat in Time Modding Tools, so I dove back in. Well, making one was so much fun that I decided to make 2 levels. Both of the them are Time Rifts, so they're a bit shorter than a standard level in the game, but I think I created some cool platforming challenges.



A Time Rift that emphasizes rotating platforms and objects, and challenges to use actions, such as wall jumping and dashing to overcome them.



A Time Rift in which Hat Kid climbs various levels of a tower while completing different platforming challenges. Features wall jumping, Ice Hat Platforms, Etc.


Screenshots of Both Levels


What Went Well


These levels definitely aren't as complex as The Twilight Dwellers, but the main goal I had when I made them was to make sure that I still knew what I was doing. Overall, it was a lot like when I did the game jam last year; I picked the editor back up really quickly, and remembered how to create events through the visual scripting and animate with the matinee tool in a short amount of time. I also taught myself something new, which is how to set up particle systems. On The Tower, I added a particle system for the bubbles that are usually visible in a time rift, and I was surprised at how easy it was to get it working. Rotation unfortunately didn't get that feature, but I'm glad it made it into one level.


What Can Be Improved


I think there were a few challenges that had an issue with not being able to see everything you need to. On The Tower specifically, I made a challenge where you have to use the Ice Hat to catapult to another platform while avoiding a moving wall. Sometimes, I think this wall can be hard to see, and can make the challenge frustrating. As for Rotation, the wall jumping section that I used in this level challenges the player to wall jump on rotating platforms, which can really play with the camera if you rotate the right way. I think the challenge is interesting, but the way the camera behaves can make it frustrating, and I wish I could've done it better.


Unfortunately though, I won't be editing these levels based on feedback. After I made the levels, I ran into an instance where I had to uninstall Steam, and both of the files were accidentally deleted. That said, any feedback I get on these will go towards making levels that make design improvements, so hope you like them!

9 views0 comments
bottom of page