top of page
  • Writer's pictureBilly Beanland

Favorite Game I Played in 2022

It's that time of year again! 2022 was an awesome year for games, and I don't mean just games that came out last year, but also any game that I played for the first time. So with that in mind, let's take a quick look back at the year and some of the best games I got my hands on.


Kirby & The Forgotten Land

If you know me, you probably saw this one coming. If you're as invested in Kirby games as I am, you know that it had been a 4-year gap since Star Allies. So the hype was beyond real when this game was announced. Forgotten Land took a big leap for the series by departing from its side-scrolling roots, but thankfully, it was a leap in a right direction. One thing that always brings me back to the series is finding all the collectables in a level (this time around being captured Waddle Dees), and I think the 3D spaces really utilized those in a way that challenges you to explore each level and play it more than once. And then there's the exploration of the overworld to find the treasure road

stages and collect the rare stones. Combined with a new upgrade system for copy abilities, fun boss fights, and an absolute banger of an opening/ending credits song, it was well-deserving of the Best Family Game Award it was given at The Game Awards. Now I just need it to hold me over until Return to Dreamland Deluxe comes out.


Splatoon 3

Even though it came out in the second half of the year, I think Splatoon 3 might be my most played game of 2022. With each entry in this series, it just keeps getting better and better. This time around, we got a new lobby system that allowed you to play with friends much more easily, a bunch of new weapons and maps, and regularly scheduled updates to bring us more content. But let's talk about the big new addition; Splat Fests with 3 TEAMS!!! It definitely makes for a lot of great competition, but that's amplified by Tri-Battles; I mean turf wars with 3 teams at once is so chaotic and exciting. Plus it makes the map look really colorful. With how many hours I've put in in just a few months, it's looking like Splatoon 3 is probably gonna be a regular in games I play with friends, and I'll always be ready to support Big Man in whatever Splat Fests come down the line.


Unsighted

Humble Bundle was having a publisher sale on Steam earlier in the year, and that's where I came across Unsighted. From the second I saw the trailer, it immediately reminded me of Crosscode with a bit of Hyper Light Drifter mixed in. And I think the last game I picked up from Humble was Wandersong, so I really didn't see a reason not to give this a try. What I was greeted by was a diverse top-down metroidvania with RPG elements and great combat. One of the coolest things about this game though is the time system. Every character (even the one you play as) has a limited number of hours before they disappear, and once they're gone, they're not coming back. Thankfully, there are items that allow you to increase the number of hours a character has, so it's up to you to decide who to keep around longer. It's such a unique way to go about game narrative and attaching yourself to characters, and combined with the game's exploration, Unsighted makes for a classic addition to the indie scene.


Guacamelee! 2

A bit of late entry on this list, but long overdue for me. I played the first game back in 2020, and it was a blast; just a solid metroidvania with fun characters, good combat, and lots of secrets. While I'm still not too far into the second game, it feels like more of the same in the best ways possible. Just the fact that it started with replaying the final boss from the first game was enough to pull me right back in. Seeing Juan and company travel the "Mexiverse" has been a lot of fun, and the game is jam packed with a mix of Mexican culture and pop culture in the best ways. It really is an excellent sequel; whether or not it's better than the first game is still yet to be determined for me.


Pokémon Legends: Arceus

Now I probably have more hours in Pokémon Brilliant Diamond than I do in Arceus, but as far something new and unique, Arceus has to take the cake. It really took the world of Gen 4 Pokémon, blended it with the quests and exploration of a great Monster Hunter game, and covered it all with the art direction of Breath of The Wild. I think what really makes this game stand out is how it moves away from the gym challenge. Rather than focusing on the combat at all times, Arceus really leans into the researcher aspect of Pokémon by giving you quests and goals that center on catching Pokémon and completing the PokéDex. I can honestly say that this was the first time ever in a Pokémon game where I was genuinely excited to complete the PokéDex, so I think that focus makes the game shine in the best ways. Also, the lineup of starters was fantastic!


Lily's Well

This one is a very unique and special entry here, as it was made by someone I not only went to college with, but took multiple classes with (go check out her website). Sam's games almost always had that great blend of adorable and creepy, and Lily's Well is no different. It's such an ominous and eerie point & click horror game with fun puzzles, creepy narrative, and an art style that really brings you back to that classic 8-bit era of gaming. And the way the game encourages you to keep finding different objects to create your rope really makes you want to find all the endings. It seems like she put a lot of passion into it, so it's awesome to see this game get so much attention on YouTube. Well deserved!


Honorable Mentions

  • Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak

  • Kirby's Dream Buffet

  • Pokémon Brilliant Diamond

And there you have it! Another great year of gaming come and gone in the blink of an eye. But thankfully, it's looking like 2023 is gonna be a big year of games for me, so I think next year's list is gonna be even more awesome!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page