top of page
  • Writer's pictureBilly Beanland

Animating in Unity

So, yeah. I've been pretty inactive on my blog, but with reason. Between applying for jobs, working my part-time job, and some other stuff, I've kind of gotten distracted. So to get back into the swing of things, I thought I'd talk about a little project that I put together over the course of today.


I've always really enjoyed using tools to do frame animations, because when it's done, it leaves you with a lot of satisfaction. Unity's animator is one that I've used in the past, but since it was so little, I never made anything really stand out to me (aside from a project I did during my junior year of college). So as a little side-project today, I thought I'd jump in and do some animation work for a platformer character, and who else would I choose besides Kirby. I managed to find a set of animation sprites made by a DeviantArt user named NintendoSteven, imported it into Unity (along with some asset store stuff), did a little scripting and animating, and ended up with a basic Kirby that was animated to walk, jump, and even fall asleep if you don't touch the controls after a certain amount of time.



Overall, I think I did a decent job, and was really proud of the sleeping animation. Obviously, there are things that can be improved, and who knows, maybe this could evolve into something more. Again, it's definitely on me for not staying updated on my blog for the past few weeks, but I'm hoping that's gonna change. Even so, I've still been working on projects while I've been gone, and can't wait to share them once they get a little more fine-tuning.

16 views0 comments
bottom of page